Last Updated: Apr 22, 2013
URL: http://libraryguides.swlaw.edu/eresources
Print Guide
- LexisNexis
Comprehensive full-text legal, news, public records and business information. Requires password. Passwords for educational use are issued to all current students and faculty.
- Westlaw
Comprehensive full-text legal, news, public records and business information. Requires password. Passwords for educational use are issued to all current students and faculty.
- Bloomberg BNA Online
Provides news and analysis of regulatory, legislative and judicial developments in selected areas. Please read
license agreement. Available to on-site patrons. Remote access is available to current students, faculty and staff. A second log-in with a
BNA password is required for certain databases.
- Bloomberg Law
Comprehensive full-text legal, corporate and financial information, news and analysis. Faculty and students can create an account at
http://bloomberglaw.com/activate. An activation code is not needed but a Southwestern email address is required.
- IntelliConnect
Provides news and analysis of developments in a broad range of legal and business compliance practice areas such as labor, healthcare law, intellectual property, product liability, antitrust, securities, and environmental compliance. Available to students, faculty and staff on campus only. Advanced users who want to customize and save preferences can create an account and log in
here.
- CEB OnLAW
Provides access to the full text of approximately 140 of CEB's California practice guides in a wide range of legal practice areas. Remote access available to current students, faculty and staff only.
- Checkpoint
Comprehensive research system for state and federal taxation. Remote access available for current students, faculty and staff only.
- CGL Reporter
Provides analysis of important insurance law trends and summaries of more than 2,300 insurance cases from 1991 to present. Available to faculty, students and staff only. Users must register with their swlaw email address and
Southwestern's account number. - Special Ed Connection
Covers news, research, case law, statutes and regulations relating to special education. Intended primarily for the Children's Rights Clinic, the service is also available to students, faculty and staff for law school related work. Remote access available.
- National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
Source for more than 250 final acts and drafts of uniform laws. Remote access available.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books
Use to locate citations to articles published in Anglo-American legal journals and law reviews. Select Legal Periodicals and Books for articles in approximately 1,000 journals published since 1981, and books since 1994. Select Legal Periodicals Retro for articles published in 850 journals between 1908 and 1981. Remote access available.
- Legal Trac
Use to locate citations to articles published in over 1400 law reviews, law journals and bar journals and legal newspapers, with coverage beginning in 1980. Remote access is limited to home computers.
- Hein Online
Full-text of hundreds of historical and selected current law review articles. Includes exact page images and keyword text searching. Remote access available.
- JSTOR
Full-text back issues of over 300 scholarly journals in the social sciences: economics, history, political science, sociology, psychology and public policy. Remote access is only available to Southwestern faculty, staff and students.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Full text access to approximately 200 social sciences journals with coverage back to 1995. Also includes indexing of 400 more social science journals dating back to 1983 and selected abstracts back to 1994. Remote access available.
- E-Journal Portal
A to Z list of full text journals available in the library's subscription databases. Also includes selected open access journals. Use this list to find articles from a known citation.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Use to locate citations to articles published in approximately 520 legal journals published worldwide. Remote access available.
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals
Weekly listing of citations to newly published law review articles arranged by topic. Remote access available.
- SmartCILP
Current awareness resource for legal periodical literature. Available to faculty only. Required authorization code available at the reference desk.
- American Law Institute Library (Hein Online)
Contains full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the ALI Reporter. Also includes the Restatements of the Law, Uniform Commercial Code, Model Penal Code, ALI-ABA Periodicals, and the Statement of Essential Human Rights.
- History of Supreme Court Nominations (Hein Online)
Provides access to reprints of the Supreme Court of the U.S. Hearings and Reports on Successful and Unsuccessful Nominations of Supreme Court Justices by the Senate Judiciary Committee.
- Legal Classics Library (Hein Online)
Includes more than 3,000 works from some of the great legal scholars including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, and Benjamin E. Cardozo.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Vast resource for legal history comprised of the full-text of more than 21,000 works on British Commonwealth and American Law. Made possible in part by the Irving D. and Florence Rosenberg Charitable Fund. Remote access available.
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926
Digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries and digests.
- State Statutes: A Historical Archive (Hein Online)
Contains historic superseded codes from all fifty states with coverage as early as 1717.
- U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)
Includes American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, Annals of Congress, Congressional Globe and a growing file of the Congressional Record. Remote access available.
- United Nations Law Collection (Hein Online)
Contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the United Nations Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series, Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, and United Nations Legislative Series.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
Searchable full-text of bilateral and multilateral treaties filed with the United Nations or League of Nations along with indexes and status tools. Free public web site.
- Foreign and International Law Resource Database (Hein Online)
Includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world.
- Foreign Law Guide
Provides information on primary and secondary sources of foreign law. Covers more than 170 jurisdictions and explains what is published, how to find it and how to use it. Remote Access Available. Click on Subscriber Login.
- WorldTradeLaw.net
Access to primary source documents related to international trade law, also summary and critical analysis of all new WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports. Remote access available.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Use to locate citations to articles published in approximately 520 legal journals published worldwide. Remote access available.
- Constitutions of Countries of the World
Searchable full-text of the Constitutions of nearly 200 countries in English translation. License permits one user at a time. Remote access available.
- World Constitutions Illustrated (Hein Online)
Includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for many countries.
- Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts
Repository of domestic cases in international law from over 60 jurisdictions. Includes commentary, full text of judgments in their original language and translations of key passages of non-English judgments into English. Remote access available.
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
Comprehensive resource for federal legislative histories. Includes Public Law text; committee hearings, reports and prints; presidential signing statements and CRS reports. Remote access available for students, faculty and staff.
- ProQuest Congressional
Indexing and full-text of federal legislative documents (committee reports, House and Senate documents, committee prints, bills, Congressional records and more). Remote access available.
- U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)
Includes American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, Annals of Congress, Congressional Globe and a growing file of the Congressional Record. Remote access available.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Comprehensive access to federal, state and international statistical information. Remote access available.
- Marcive
Use to locate citations to U.S. government publications with coverage beginning in 1976. Remote access available.
- LLMC Digital
First phase of this massive digital conversion project focuses on selected U.S. Federal Executive, Judicial, and Legislative historical documents. Eventually, over 90,000 volumes of interest to researchers in law and history will be accessible here. Remote access available.
- Project Muse University Press Content Consortia Book Collections
Library has licensed e-books in the political science and policy studies collections. After your search, use filters to limit results to licensed full-text content.
- CALI (Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction)
Computer-based lessons for use in conjunction with law school courses. Includes over 850 computer-based lessons in 28 different legal subject areas. Students must have the
authorization code to register. Faculty authorization code is available at the reference desk.
- Legal Scholarship Network
Primarily of interest to faculty, LSN publishes a series of email abstracting journals of working papers and articles accepted for publication. Also includes conference announcements, calls for papers, and notices of new publications. Faculty must register for email journals.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides news and information on all aspects of higher education.
- CVN Law School
Service has three components: AudioCaseFiles for MP3 audio files of cases from popular casebooks; courtroom video of trials, hearings, and oral arguments; training courtroom videos that include expert commentary and analysis.