This is the "TREATIES RESEARCH" page of the "International Law Links" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Law Links  

Links for researching international law. Includes links to international governments, laws, and courts; sites for treaties research; statistics; translators; dictionaries; and maps.
Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.swlaw.edu/intlawlinks Print Guide RSS Updates

TREATIES RESEARCH Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Treaties Research

Researching U.S. Treaties and Agreements (LLRX)
The LLRX.com works with nationally recognized librarians, attorneys, information technology specialists and public interest professionals to bring readers regular, reliable, current and expertly documented articles, bibliographies and guides. This article is by Marci Hoffman.

Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties
A United Nations site giving the history and foundational documents on the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, May 23, 1969.

 

Metasites

The FLARE Index to Treaties
The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies FLARE Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the internet.

The World Treaty Index
The Electronic World Treaty Index attempts to feature complete coverage for all known agreements in the 20th Century.

Internet Law Library: Treaties and International Law
An alphabetical subject index to international treaties. The Internet Law Library, originally the U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library (1994-1999), may not provide current information. Many now historic Internet resources are now found in the Library along with many still current ones.

The United Nations Treaty Collection
The Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations makes every effort to provide the most up-to-date information available to it at its website.

 

 

Specialized Sites

U.S. Department of State: Treaty Affairs
The Office of the Assistant Legal Adviser for Treaty Affairs serves as the principal U.S. government repository for U.S. treaties and other international agreements. Includes a link to Treaties in Force (TIF) and Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS).

The U.S. Trade Compliance Center
The Trade Compliance Center is the U.S. Government's focal point for monitoring foreign compliance with trade agreements.

The OAS Foreign Trade Information Center
SICE - the Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System - centralizes information on trade policy in the Americas. Here, you will find the full texts of trade agreements in force for OAS Member States, new and ongoing trade policy developments, information on national trade-related legislation, links to international, regional and national sources of trade policy information and more.

The Council of Europe: Treaty Office
The text of all Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports, the status of signatures and ratifications, the declarations and reservations made by States, as well as the notifications issued by the Treaty Office since 2005, are available on this website.

Red Cross: War and International Humanitarian Law
International Humanitarian Law is part of the body of international law that governs relations between States. IHL aims to limit the effects of armed conflicts for humanitarian reasons. The cornerstone of IHL is the Geneva Convention.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip